Dr. McIntyre's Group

Electrical Energy Systems Research Group

Current Graduate Students

Joe Latham's photo 

Joseph Latham was born in 1988 in rural western Kentucky. An interest in mathematics, physics, and computer programming led Joseph to pursue a degree in Electrical Engineering at Western Kentucky University where he received his Bachelor’s degree. He received his Masters of Science degree from the University of Louisville in 2014 where he is currently working toward a Doctoral degree. Ultimately, Joseph’s plans are to become a professor and fulfill his passion for teaching. Joseph’s areas of interest in academic research include power electronics, controls, and renewable energy systems.

Mohammad's photo 

Mohammad Mohebbi received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Amirkabir University (Tehran Polytechnic) in 2002 and the M.S. degree in electrical engineering from Iran University of Science and Technology, Tehran, Iran, in 2005. He is currently working towards his Ph.D. degree at the University of Louisville. His research interests include control and design of power electronic systems, control of distributed energy systems, control of power systems, smart grid and digital signal processing.

Rivera's photo 

Pablo R. Rivera received the B.Eng. degree from National Polytechnic University, Ecuador in 1986, MSc. degree in Power Electronics from Bradford University, England in 1993, and currently he is pursuing the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering at University of Louisville USA. From 1993 to 2013 he was faculty member of the Electrical and Electronics Department of the National Polytechnic University involved as a researcher and as a teacher in areas of power electronics and industrial automation. From 2010 to 2013 he was Dean of the Electrical and Electronics Department of National Polytechnic School. His current research interests are power electronics converter, renewable energy applications, and control systems.

Group Photos

Spring 2016

Acadmeic Year 2015/2016

Visiting Scholars and Students

None at this time.

Group Alumni

Srikantha Peetha, “Adaptive Nonlinear Control of High Performance motors through Multi-Level Inverters,” M.S. ECE, May 2016, Chair.

Steven Tidwell, “Partial Shading Abatement Through Cascaded H-Bridge Topology,” M.S. ECE, May 2016, Chair.

Scott Nimon, “Nonlinear Controller Design for Three-Phase Grid Connected Photovoltaic Systems,” M.S. ECE, May 2016, Chair.

Eric Watson, “PV System Architecture Improvement using nano-LAPS Boost Converter to Eliminate Cell Failure Downtime,” M.S. ECE, August 2015, Chair. Mike Fradkin, M.S. ECE, December 2014, Project Chair.

Mark Elliot, M.Eng. ECE, “Partial shading abatement through cell level inverter system topology,” December 2014, Chair.

Joseph Latham, M.S. ECE, "Parameter Estimation of Linear Compressor Utilizing an Adaptive Least-squares Algorithm," August 2014, Chair.

Andrew Ashley, “Experimental Platform for a Simplified Adaptive Backstepping Control of Buck DC:DC Converter with Unknown Load using FPGA and LabVIEW,” M.Eng. ECE, August 2014, Chair.

Michael Schoen, M.Eng. ECE, “Vehicle to Grid as a Household Emergency Generator for 2007 Toyota Prius Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle,” August 2012, Chair.

Anvin Joe Manadan, M.S. ECE, “Maximum Power Point Tracking for Solar Arrays using Controlled Rectifier,” May 2012, Chair.